Literary Council

The Literary Council guides and advises the directors as they create the Festival’s panels, discussions and readings.

Jack Boulware is the Executive Director and Co-Founder of Litquake. He is author or co-author of three books, including the Bay Area punk history Gimme Something Better.

Justin Carder is the founder of E.M. Wolfman Books in downtown Oakland and the former director of publishing for the writing-tutoring nonprofit 826 Valencia.

Roane Carey is the Managing Editor of The Nation.

Justin Desmangles is Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Before Columbus Foundation.

Anastasia Edel is a Russian-American writer and the author of Russia: Putin's Playground (2016). Her essays and fiction have appeared in World Literature Today and Cream City Review. She's completed a novel, Past Perfect, and is at work on a short stories collection.

Grant Faulkner is the Executive Director of National Novel Writing Month and the Co-Founder of 100 Word Story. He is also an author, most recently of the collection 100-word stories, Fissures.

Gerry Garzon is the Director of the Oakland Public Library.

Jane Ganahl is the Artistic Director and Co-Founder of Litquake.

Philip Gourevitch is a staff writer for The New Yorker. He is the former editor of The Paris Review and is the author of We Wish To Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families: Stories from Rwanda.

Janet Heller is the Project Director of Chapter 510 and founder of the San Francisco WritersCorps.

Gregory Jordan is the author of Safe at Home: The Willie Mays Aikens Story and The Saints are Coming, a chronicle of the past decade in the most dangerous place on earth, Juarez, Mexico. 

Lewis H. Lapham is the Editor of Lapham’s Quarterly and the former Editor of Harper’s Magazine. He is the author of numerous books, including Money and Class in America and Theater of War.

Anna Lappé is the co-founder of Small Planet Institute and author of Diet for a Hot Planet.

Dorothy Lazard is the Librarian at the Oakland History Room at the Oakland Public Library.

Peter Maass writes for The New York Times Magazine, The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, and Foreign Policy, among others. His most recent book is Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil.

Larissa MacFarquhar is a staff writer for The New Yorker.

Greil Marcus is the author of Lipstick Traces: A Secret History of the Twentieth Century, Mystery Train: Images of America in Rock ‘n’ Roll Music, and The Shape of Things to Come: Prophecy and the American Voice. 

Kate Marshall is an Acquisitions Editor at University of California Press.

Sharon McKellar works at the Oakland Public Library.

James Miller is the Chair of Liberal Studies at the New School for Social Research. He is the author of The Passion of Michel Foucault and Examined Lives: From Socrates to Nietzsche.

Holly Mulder-Wollan is an Associate Producer at City Arts & Lectures.

George Packer is a staff writer for The New Yorker. He won the National Book Award for The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America and is author of The Assassins’ Gate: America in Iraq.

Eyal Press writes for The New York Review of Books, The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic, and The Nation. His most recent book is Beautiful Souls: Saying No, Breaking Ranks and Heeding the Voice of Conscience in Dark Times.

Elise Proulx is the Associate Director of Litquake.

Alissa Quart is the author of Republic of Outsiders, Branded, and Hothouse Kids. She writes for The New York Times Sunday Review, The Atlantic, The Atavist, and the London Review of Books.

David Rose is the Publisher of Lapham’s Quarterly.

Ruth Rosen is a historian of gender and society and an award-winning journalist. A Professor Emerita of History at the University of California at Davis, she taught American history, women’s history, public policy, and immigration studies. She is the editor of the The Maimie Papers, a New York Times Notable Book in l978; the author of The Lost Sisterhood: Prostitution in America, 1982; and The World Split Open: How The Modern Women’s Movement Changed America, (revised edition 2006).

Peter Rothberg is the Associate Publisher of The Nation.

Laura Secor writes for The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic, and The New Republic. She is a former staff editor of The New York Times op-ed page.

Jeff Sharlet is the nationally bestselling author of The Family. He is a contributing editor for Harper’s Magazine, Rolling Stone, and Virginia Quarterly Review.

Adam Shatz is a contributing editor at the London Review of Books and the former literary editor of The Nation.

Alex Stavrakas is Managing Editor at Callisto Media and the curator behind FMRAL. He lives in Oakland, California.

Kait Steele is the Director of Field Operations for 826 National. She was a founding member of 826 Chicago, serving as the organization’s first Programs Coordinator and later as its Director of Education.

Luan Strauss is the owner of the Laurel Book Store in Oakland, California.

Jamie Turbak is the Associate Director of the Oakland Public Library.

Winifred Walters works at the Oakland Public Library in Community Relations, Grants and Development.